Meatballs. The Best. Ever.

Posted on September 13, 2011

2


I have tried many,many meatball recipes.  Porcupine meatballs, Swedish meatballs, and a plethora or Italian meatballs.  I have finally found I recipe that works for me every time, using ingredients I nearly always have on hand.

Meatballs are so versatile.  They can be used in sandwiches, with pasta, in Italian wedding soup, as appetizers–really, the possibilities of the meatball are fun to think about.  This is the recipe I have been using.  It is based on the recipe I found in my Savor the Memories cookbook.  I know I have mentioned this cookbook several times.  It is time for you to buy it.

Meatballs

1 lb. 85/15 ground beef

1 lb. ground pork (my local grocer does not have it already ground–I have to ask for it and they are happy to grind me some fresh)

2 eggs

2 cups fresh bread crumbs (take regular bread or leftover focaccia and place in your food processor to get a fine crumb–you don’t want to see bread chunks in your meatballs. (At least I don’t want to see bread chunks in your meatballs.  Or in mine, for that matter).

1 T minced garlic

1 tsp. Italian seasoning

1/2 tsp. salt

several cracks of fresh pepper

1/4 c. parmesan cheese, freshly grated

1/2 c. milk

1/4 c. freshly minced parsley (or use 1 T. dried), optional

Put all the ingredients in a bowl.  It should look like this:

The only TRUE way to mix meatballs is to wash your hands, roll up your sleeves, and mix with your hands.  It is gross.  I will confirm that.  BUT–you get a nicely mixed meatball instead of meatballs that are uneven in seasoning.

Once you have mixed and de-contaminated yourself, it is time to make them into balls.  I use a small cookie scoop to portion out the meatballs, and then I use my hands to roll them into little balls.

I included the cookie scoop in the picture. Handy little guy!

What you do next is BROWN the meatballs.  You can do this in a skillet in a bit of vegetable oil, or you can put them in a hot oven for 5-10 minutes.  Seriously, it does not really matter what the temp is as long as it is above 325.  You just need to brown them so they end up being about half-way cooked.  I like to coat the baking pan with Pam, and then place the meatballs on top.  I like it when I remember to do this, because is makes clean up so easy.

Once you are done browning them and they are about half-way cooked, drop them into the sauce.  I like this recipe or my roasted sauce.  Simmer the meatballs in the sauce for about twenty minutes, stirring once in a while.

Then your meatballs are mature enough to come out and meet you.  Do with them what you will.  This is what I did with them last week:

Take some focaccia, split it open, and then line the bread with provolone cheese.  At this point you could also add sauteed onions and peppers.  Then add saucy meatballs.

You might want to grab a fork for these!  They do get a bit messy…..

