Not so stuffy stuffed chicken

Posted on September 8, 2011

0


The idea of stuffed meat is always impressive, isn’t it? It looks so difficult.  It’s got style. Luckily, it really isn’t all that difficult to do.

Italian Chicken Rolls with rosemary polenta and steamed veggies

Every once in a while I want to stuff some meat.

Here is a rendition I just tried over the weekend.  I thought it turned out great!  You can use lots of different combinations for the stuffing, and the techniques are pretty much the same no matter what you stuff it with.

Italian Pepper Stuffed Chicken Breasts

First, pound out the breasts so they are thinner and have more surface area.  Better yet, ask your butcher to do it for you.  I forgot, so I had to use a rolling pin on ziploc bags stuffed with chicken.  I can’t quite get the chicken as thin as I would like, but I would say the surface area at least doubled.

Salt and pepper both sides of the meat.

Stuff each breast with:

a few slices of jarred, roasted red peppers

about 1/4 c. steamed spinach

several chunks of feta or goat cheese

Here is what one looked like before I wrapped it up.

Roll up each breast, using your fingers to keep the sides from oozing their yummy stuffing, and secure with toothpicks.

Heat 1/4 c. olive oil in a large, deep skillet.  Once it is hot, add the chicken and  brown each side.  You don’t want to be cooked through–just to be browned.

Once they are nicely browned, place in a 9 x 13 pan that has been sprayed with Pam.  In the skillet you hopefully have some leftover oil and browned bits of meat.  Deglaze the pan with just a bit of broth.  Just pour in about 1/2 c. broth and watch all the bits come up from the pan.  Then add that to your your previously prepared sauce.  Or open a NICE bottle of marinara.  Pour over the top of the chicken.

Bake chicken at 350 for about 30 minutes, or until cooked through.  I am lame with cooking times so I generally slice one open to check.

Serve up!  I loved it with Polenta, but a simple pasta side or risotto would work nicely as well.  I could only eat half my chicken, so I got to have it for lunch the next day.  Bonus!

