Tortellini Soup

Posted on September 7, 2011

0


This soup is my family’s favorite.  My youngest asks for it on her birthday.  It makes a very large pot, so if you are not serving it to two teenage boys who eat like our 7 month old Golden Retriever, you will probably have leftovers.  I saw a tortellini soup on a cooking show where tortellini was added to simmering broth.  That’s it.  Seemed boring to me.  So I took the idea of tortellini in soup and made a variation I think must taste better and is certainly better for you.  Plus, there is something just comforting about a pot of chicken soup on a cool fall night.  Or if you live in the Tundra, for a night in mid-June.

Start with the chicken.  There are several different ways you can do this:

  1.  Boil three breasts and three thighs in seasoned water.  Let cool, shred.  Use liquid for the broth.
  2. Pressure cook an entire chicken with an onion, celery, & carrots.  De-bone chicken; reserve broth.
  3. Make it fast & easy!  Use a Rotisserie chicken from Costco or you local grocer.  Debone!

In a large pot, saute 3 diced or sliced carrots, 4 stalks celery (diced), and one onion, also diced.  Season with salt and pepper.  Once vegetables are starting to soften, add about 1 T. minced garlic clove.  Add about 8 cups of liquid.  If I have good broth from cooking the  chicken then I just add that.  If I am using leftover chicken or rotisserie chicken, I use canned broth or bouillon concentrate with water.

Simmer until the veggies are tender.  Then add the shredded chicken, 1 to 1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning and one large package of fresh (refrigerated) tortellini (any kind–we especially love the 5 cheese from costco).  You could even use ravioli if you watned. When the pasta is tender, stir in one large bag of baby spinach.  I mean a good sized bag.  The more the merrier!  Just keep stirring it in.  It wilts almost instantly.  Take the spinach OUT of the bag, or course.  Adjust salt and pepper.  Add more liquid if needed, and adjust to personal preference (I like a thick soup).  Serve as soon as you have it right and the spinach is wilted.

You can also stir in a small can of pumpkin right before adding the spinach.  Trust me, no one will know.  It just gives the broth more body, flavor, and color.  I do this whenever I have pumpkin on hand, which is most of the time.  Gotta sneak in that Vitamin A!

Serve with parmesan to sprinkle on top.  Kids gobble up this soup….and I love watching them eat spinach!

(And pumpkin, but I never tell them about that).

3 Comments
Q
Can’t wait to try this one!  🙂
Monday, November 9, 2009 – 04:08 PM
Q
I made this for dinner this weekend and we rated it 16 thumbs up… it was WONDERFUL!  Everyone had seconds and there was nothing left.  I even increased the recipe by half!  I confess I wasn’t sure about the pumpkin, but it works well, just like you said.Thanks!  I’m sure this will be much-requested in the future.  🙂
Monday, November 16, 2009 – 11:29 AM
MamaChef
Oh I am so glad you liked it!  The Youngest has this soup on her top five list!
Tuesday, November 17, 2009 – 12:15 PM
