Tomato Artichoke Soup

Posted on September 7, 2011

0


Let me tell you: this soup is TO DIE FOR!!!!  It is so delicious and simple to prepare.  The acidity of the tomatoes, the tang of the artichokes…..I just love it! This recipe is inspired from one in my “Savor the Memories” cookbook, written by the owner and chef of Cucina’s deli in Salt Lake.  My dear friend J lent me the book, and I have conveniently forgot to return it!  You’re the best, J!!!!!

2 t. butter

1 large onion, finely chopped (I use my food processor)

1 T. minced garlic

1 tsp dried thyme

15 oz. can artichoke hearts, coarsely chopped (food processor)

28 oz. petite diced tomatoes with juice

4 c. chicken broth (if using bouillon salt to taste–you might have enough already)

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

8 oz light cream cheese

In a pot heat the butter and saute the onion.  Add spices, stir around a minute, then add everything but the creamy stuff.  After it has simmered for about 1/2 hour, stir in the cream cheese.

Serve with crusty Italian bread!  Or Panini!  YUM!

