Raspberry Coffee Cake

Posted on August 22, 2011

0


I mentioned I have been under a Raspberry attack, right?  I have picked 12-13 gallon from my patch this summer.  And I am still getting a quart or so every few days.  It has been a good year for raspberries!  I am always thinking of ways to use them up.  My neighbor and friend has even more raspberries than I do, and she gave me this recipe.  She is a marvelous cook and everything I have had that she makes is delicious.  I have taken the recipe and reduced the fat and sugar slightly, and added almonds. Here is my version:

Beat together until light and fluffy:

8 oz. light cream cheese

1/4 c. butter

2/3 c. sugar

Beat in:

1/4 c. plain or vanilla yogurt

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. pure almond extract

1/4 c. buttermlk

2 eggs

Sift together, then mix in just until fully incorporated:

1 3/4 c. all purpose unbleached flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Spread mixture into a 9 x 13 pan that has been either sprayed with Pam or coated with a thin layer of butter.

Then take 2 cups of raspberries that have been mixed with 1/4 cup raspberry jam.

Spread over the top, then cut through with a knife.

Sprinkle the top with 1/3-1/2 c. slivered almonds (or as much as you like–your preference)

Sprinkle also with 2 T. brown sugar

Then bake for about 30 min. at 350 degrees, or until middle of cake bounces back when touched.

Last step: dig in while still warm!  My family of six will generally demolish the entire pan in one meal.

Variations: you can omit the almond extract and almonds.  You can also use any kind of berry jam you have on hand.  And finally,  I would imagine you could also use blueberries or even sliced fresh peaches in place of the raspberries.

Posted in: Breakfast, Fruit