YUMMILICIOUS Cornbread

Posted on August 16, 2011

0


I have been experimenting with Cornbread for many years and I think I have finally come up with a recipe I really like.  I have tested it on family and friends and all agree it is yummy!  It is a little sweeter and denser than what I grew up on (I had Southern Style cornbread growing up) but I have not ever been able to really replicate my Grandmother’s and Mom’s cornbread that they used to cook in an iron skillet.  So I had to invent my own.

Fills a 9 x 13 pan.  Pre-heat oven to 375.

2 cups cornmeal

2 cups unbleached flour

2 heaping Tablespoons of baking powder

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp salt

Sift all the dry ingredients together.

Mix wet:

2 1/2 cups milk (soured milk or part buttermilk is good too)

2 eggs

1/3 c. oil

1/3 c. applesauce

Combine wet & dry and mix well, but not overly as you do not want to kill the leavening.  Pour into a pam-sprayed glass baking dish and cook until nicely browned all over.  Serve with butter and honey.  I cook it for about 25 minutes, but I use convection.

 

Posted in: Breads, Side Dishes