Zucchini Blossom Hush Puppies

Posted on August 14, 2011

0


 

These are delicious little treats!  I had never made hush puppies before, but they were easy and very satisfying.

We also had an unusual phenomenon this year.  We actually had TONS of zucchini.  I know, I know–you’re wondering why that is so amazing.  Anyone can grown zucchini!  I know what you’re thinking!  But believe me, getting a bumper crop in a high altitude desert with not a whole lot of sun can be tricky.  We  dug up some very old raspberry bushes at the beginning of the summer and allocated that space to our squash plants.  And boy oh boy did they love that spot!

Well, our squash was still going strong but we had a nasty cold spell in September.  My squash plants were totally covered with blossoms, but I knew they would not hold up over the frosty night, so I set to work figuring out what I could do with them.  I had read once that they are considered a delicacy.  So I did a bit of research and found this recipe.

*A note on harvesting blossoms.  You can pluck the blossoms that are just there blooming by themselves, or you can pick the ones off the end of the squash–or both!  Both blossom types are delicious.

Here it is:

Dry:

2 c. cornmeal

1 c. flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

cayenne pepper to taste (just a bit)

1/4 tsp. cumin

Wet:

1 1/3 c. buttermilk

2 eggs

2 T. oil (or bacon drippings)

1/4 c. minced red or sweet onion

8-10 squash blossoms, roughly chopped

1 c. corn kernels (I just used defrosted frozen)

 

Combine dry and then wet, then together.  Meanwhile, heat oil to 350 in about 2-3’’ deep in a dutch oven or whatever you fry stuff in.  The gently stir the vegetables into the batter.  Drop by heaping tablespoons into the hot oil, and brown on all sides.  Drain on paper towels and enjoy!  I served them with real maple syrup to dip them into!

 

Now, squash blossoms are delicate and if you are lucky, you will only get your hands on some once a year or so. When I make these again I plan on using about 2/3 -1 c. lightly packed grated zucchini, if I get a hankering to make them before I have blossoms.

 

Thanks to SeasonalChef.com!

