Zucchini and Herb Frittata

Posted on August 14, 2011

0


I got this recipe from one of my cooking guru friends.  All the recipes I get from this friend are delicious.  Let’s just call her “mother” cuz she loves when I refer to her that way.  She knows what I am talking about.  This recipe may have morphed a bit over time…..who knows.

The other morning I got up, put on my mud boots, and headed out to the garden.  There I found about a dozen zucchini and the very first raspberry picking!  So I gathered up my treasures and headed back into the house to make a lovely summer breakfast.  Well, at least I hoped it would be lovely!

Zucchini Frittata

2-4 thinly sliced zucchini (depends on how big you let them get!  I prefer mine young and small).

small handful of herbs: basil, oregano, rosemary, marjoram, chives–whatever you have growing on your porch or in your window!

2 T. butter

5-6 eggs

1/3 c. cream

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 c. parmesan cheese

And in this frittata I also threw in a handful of cubed, fresh mozzarella.  That was good too.

Melt the butter in a large, oven proof skillet.  Saute the zucchini until is just starts to brighten and soften.  Then add the chopped herbs and saute a minute more.  Then distribute it all along the bottom of the pan so it is even and pretty much covers it. Don’t overcook because in my opinion soggy zucchini is gross.  In another bowl beat the eggs, cream, and parmesan together.  Pour over the veggies.  Season with salt and pepper. Now don’t stir like scrambled eggs.  You let the bottom cook while gently lifting the edges periodically and tilting the pan so the raw egg goes underneath.  You keep doing this until it is mostly set but still raw on top.  This just takes a few minutes.

Turn on your broiler, sprinkle on a bit more Parmesan, then stick the whole pan in the oven.  Keep an eye on it, since it cooks fast.  Once it has puffed and is browned, it should be set in the middle.  Take it out of the oven and let it rest for about five minutes before serving.  Cut like a pie and serve the triangle shaped pieces with chili sauce or bruschetta.

You can vary this basic recipe endlessly!  Use mushrooms, spinach, summer squash, artichoke hearts…..whatever!  Sometimes I make two at the same time….making one just ham and cheddar for variety.  My family can eat two frittatas with maybe a piece or two left over.  But it reheats well and it great the next morning.

