Strawberry Shortcake Pancakes

Posted on August 14, 2011

0


Who says you can’t have dessert for breakfast????  This is a great recipe to celebrate spring with strawberries.  When I can buy strawberries at the store I know spring is around the corner.  I love this pancake recipe, and you can certainly eat them without the whipped cream.  But why?

Strawberry Yogurt Pancakes 

1 1/2 cups flour (I have great success with freshly ground white wheat flour instead)

1 T. sugar if using sweetened yogurt, 3 T. sugar if using plain

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

3 eggs

6 oz. strawberry, vanilla, or plain yogurt

3/4 c. water

3 T. canola oil

Mix dry, then wet, then combine.  Cook on a hot greased griddle.  To serve them Strawberry shortcake style, slice strawberries and sprinkle lightly with sugar so they get all juicy.  Add a touch of lemon juice.  Whip cream and sweeten lightly with powdered sugar and about 1 tsp. vanilla.  Layer pancake, strawberries, whipped cream, and then do that again.  Finally, top with pure maple or strawberry syrup.  I double this recipe for my family of six.

Posted in: Breakfast