Chinese Cabbage Salad

Posted on August 14, 2011

0


This salad breaks some of my own cooking/eating rules.  One of my rules is to avoid disgusting pre-packaged foods at all cost.  This recipe uses an ingredient I find personally revolting, but it actually works and tastes good.  I don’t make this salad a lot due to this revolting ingredient, but when I do I gobble it right up.  It is one of my favorites.  Wondering what this ingredient is?  I will give you some hints.  This item:

–costs pennies

–is high fat

–is HIGH sodium

–has no nutritional value

–contains MSG

–is exceedingly high calorie

–is eaten by college students all over the country several times a week, and possibly every day

Have you guessed the secret ingredient?  Yes, it is RAMEN.

Not THIS kind of Ramen.

This is REAL Ramen.  This is served in Japanese noodle houses and is delicious!!!!  No, this is the Ramen I am talking about:

I’ll admit it.  I ate tons of ramen in college.  Thankfully, I have outgrown that stage.

 

Enough digressing.  Here is the recipe.  Even with ramen it is very tasty!

Chinese Cabbage Salad 

1 cup slivered almonds

1 T. butter

Toast almonds in a hot skillet in butter.  Let cool.

In a bowl, combine:

1/2 c. sliced green onion

1 medium cabbage, shredded

1 red pepper, diced

2 T. sesame seeds

1-2 cans mandarin oranges, drained

1-2 cups chopped cooked chicken (super convenient to use a Rotisserie chicken)

add the cooled toasted almonds

2 pkgs of ramen, broken up into bits (yes, raw ramen)

Make dressing:

3/4 c. canola oil

1/2 c. cider vinegar

4 tsp. sugar

the two spice packs from the ramen

salt & pepper to taste

Pour the dressing over the salad, toss well, and chill a few hours before serving.

 

2 Comments Manage Comments for this Entry
Harmony
Haha!  That was funny…half of the post dedicated to how disgusting Ramen is.  This salad looks delicious.  I love sweet cold salads like this.  Is there a sub you could put in for the Ramen, like I think I’ve heard of crispy Asian noodles??
Monday, May 3, 2010 – 01:36 AM
Wyoming Neice
I make a recipe similar to this with no particular name so I just call it cabbage chicken salad. I love it in the summertime! Even just the salad for a meal alone.
Monday, May 3, 2010 – 09:21 AM
