Broccoli Salad

Posted on August 14, 2011

0


We eat differently in the summer than we do in the winter.  In winter, it is all about soups, stews, the crock pot, and breads.  But in summer, we tend to grill a lot and eat things that can easily be eaten on our back porch.  We eat out of the garden, and throw things together quickly on the stove top.

I know, I know.  You are probably wondering why I am talking about summer food when I live in the tundra.  It snowed all last week and at night temps are still dipping into the teens. But a girl can dream, right?  I did go outside yesterday without a coat!  For a minute, at least!  There is hope!  There is hope!  There is hope!  If I say that enough, I just might convince myself.

In my delusional state (you know, the delusion I have that it is April so that means Spring) I decided to make burgers and salads for The Youngest’s baptism a few weeks ago.

This is a recipe I got from a friend eons ago, and I make it several times a year for summer menus.  It is fresh and delicious.

Broccoli Salad 

Dressing:  Make & chill overnight

1 1/3 cup mayo (you can use light mayo or half yogurt to lighten it up)

1/2 c. sugar (I often use less–like 1/4 to 1/3)

3 T. tarragon vinegar (I have used basil vinegar also)

grated onion to taste

Combine the following ingredients into a bowl

4 cups broccoli flowerets (bite size)

1 lb bacon, cooked, drained, and crumbled (using the pre-cooked stuff here really saves time and mess)

2 cups red grapes, each grape cut in half

1 cup diced celery

1 cup raisins (soften then first by covering with boiling water and letting them sit for a few minutes)–optional

1/2 c. toasted almonds

Pour the dressing over the salad and toss thoroughly.  Let chill for about two hours before serving.

1 Comment Manage Comments for this Entry

Harmony
My friend made this salad for me a few weeks ago and I loved it!!  And actually, it is very similar to the recipe of Broccoli Cauliflower Salad that Aunt June always makes.  The dressing is the same, but hers has the two vegetables plus cubed cheddar and sunflower seeds (no grapes or bacon).  I’m sure there are lots of variations of it.  In my opinion the bacon is the most important ingredient!
Monday, May 3, 2010 – 01:39 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

