Birthday Cake for a Sweet 16 (German Chocolate Cake)

Posted on August 14, 2011

0


See how my sweet daughter is turning 16?  Count those candles!  One…two…three…four…five…six………HEY!  There are only eight candles!

That’s right.  Not a great Mommy moment.  I didn’t have enough candles.  Eight TIMES two.  Get it????

But she did get a REALLY DELICIOUS birthday cake.  So I hope I made up for my other brain cramp. She wanted a homemade German Chocolate Cake.  Take a look at this deliciousness:

Start with this recipe: LINK to No-Fail Chocolate Cake.

Pour batter into two 10” cake pans.  Or just a 9 X 13 pan for true ease!  While it is cooking, mix up the homemade coconut pecan frosting.

Coconut Pecan Frosting

3 large egg yolks, slightly beaten

1 c. evaporated milk

1/2 c. butter

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/3 c. sweetened shredded coconut (Baker’s brand is best)

1 c. chopped pecans

In a medium saucepan combine everything except the coconut and pecans.  Cook over medium heat, stirring very often, for about 15 minutes, or until frosting thickens.  Remove from heat and add coconut and pecans.  Beat with a wooden spoon until it has cooled slightly and is spreading consistency.  Now let cool completely in pan until ready to use.

This frosting is seriously so delicious you can just sit there and eat it at the stove right off the wooden spoon.  I know, as I have done that.

I have to at least mention that I got this recipe out of one of my favorite Amish cookbooks.  Here is the LINK.  

Once you take your cake out of the oven, let it cool.  Then you are ready to frost it.  This is what I like to do best:

Take your cake layers and cut them in half.  Then fill each layer with the coconut frosting.  Then frost the top and outside with a dark chocolate buttercream.  I usually just wing it with frosting, but here are instructions on how I start at least.

Chocolate Frosting

1 cube butter, softened

1 brick cream cheese, softened

1 tsp vanilla

About 1/3 to 1/2 c. cocoa powder (you may want to use less-I like it dark!)

powdered sugar, added until right consistency

cream or canned milk, 1-2 T., usually

I start by beating the fats until fluffy.  Then I start adding the other ingredients.   Then I play a little game where I add powdered sugar and bits of cream until I get the right fluffy consistency.  I do all of this in my KitchenAid.

Once you try this cake you will never be tempted to buy the cake mix and canned coconut frosting again!  It is worth the effort to make it all from scratch!

2 Comments Manage Comments for this Entry
Harmony
Oh, yum!  I love German chocolate frosting too.  I do the same; I can’t help but eat it with a spoon when I make it (which is not that often).  Aaron and his brothers always want that for their birthdays.
Monday, November 8, 2010 – 03:09 AM
Q
Oh YUM… rat #3 loves German Chocolate Cake… this just missed her birthday but who said you can’t have cake year round?  🙂
Monday, November 8, 2010 – 02:18 PM
Posted in: Desserts